Can't find what you're looking for? Visit us in person to see everything we have in stock!

The Twist of a Knife: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Twist of a Knife: A Novel By Anthony Horowitz Cover Image
$29.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In New York Times bestselling author Anthony Horowitz’s ingenious fourth literary whodunit following The Word is Murder, The Sentence is Death, and A Line to Kill, Horowitz becomes the prime suspect in a murder investigation—and only one man can prove his innocence: his newly estranged partner in solving crime, Detective Hawthorne.

“I’m sorry but the answer’s no.” Reluctant author, Anthony Horowitz, has had enough. He tells ex-detective Daniel Hawthorne that after three books he’s splitting and their deal is over.

The truth is that Anthony has other things on his mind.

His new play, a thriller called Mindgame, is about to open at the Vaudeville Theater in London’s West End. Not surprisingly, Hawthorne declines a ticket to the opening night.

The play is panned by the critics. In particular, Sunday Times critic Margaret Throsby gives it a savage review, focusing particularly on the writing. The next day, Throsby is stabbed in the heart with an ornamental dagger which turns out to belong to Anthony, and has his fingerprints all over it.

Anthony is arrested by an old enemy . . . Detective Inspector Cara Grunshaw. She still carries a grudge from her failure to solve the case described in the second Hawthorne adventure, The Sentence is Death, and blames Anthony. Now she’s out for revenge.

Thrown into prison and fearing for both his personal future and his writing career, Anthony is the prime suspect in Throsby’s murder and when a second theatre critic is found to have died in mysterious circumstances, the net closes in. Ever more desperate, he realizes that only one man can help him.

But will Hawthorne take the call?

About the Author


ANTHONY HOROWITZ is the author of the US bestselling Magpie Murders and The Word is Murder, and one of the most prolific and successful writers in the English language; he may have committed more (fictional) murders than any other living author. His novel Trigger Mortis features original material from Ian Fleming. His most recent Sherlock Holmes novel, Moriarty, is a reader favorite; and his bestselling Alex Rider series for young adults has sold more than 19 million copies worldwide. As a TV screenwriter, he created both Midsomer Murders and the BAFTA-winning Foyle’s War on PBS. Horowitz regularly contributes to a wide variety of national newspapers and magazines, and in January 2014 was awarded an OBE.

Praise For…


“This humorous homage to golden age closed-circle mysteries is not to be missed.”Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Playful ... An efficiently old-fashioned whodunit with all the surprises you'd expect.” Kirkus Reviews

“Excellent . . . . Readers of character-driven novels will love the twists and turns of this Agatha Christie–style mystery that leads to an unexpected reveal. Perfect for fans of G. M. Malliet, Elly Griffiths, and Richard Osman.”Library Journal (starred review)

“Horowitz continues to delight in mixing real life (e.g., Horowitz's play Mindgame was staged in London) and fiction, as well as in juxtaposing Horowitz (the character) as nebbish against the always-three-stepsahead Hawthorne. Not to worry, their relationship isn't over quite yet. There's much more to discover, and readers will be waiting eagerly for more from one of the best mystery writers around.”Booklist (starred review)

“ . . . .Gleefully witty. . . .”Tom Nolan for The Wall Street Journal

An adventure that will enchant mystery lovers, Anglophiles and theater buffs.”
Washington Post

"The Twist of a Knife is consistently, delightfully entertaining, with Horowitz’s own theatrical experience providing just the right amount of bittersweet bite."Air Mail

“Fall is the time to read a mystery novel, and Anthony Horowitz consistently delivers a great whodunnit.”Town & Country

Product Details
ISBN: 9780062938183
ISBN-10: 0062938185
Publisher: Harper
Publication Date: November 15th, 2022
Pages: 384
Language: English
 

CONTACT US

BARRINGTON BOOKS
184 County Road | Barrington, RI 02806
401 245 7925

HOURS HOLIDAY HOURS

9AM-9PM       M-F
9AM-7PM       SAT
10AM-6PM     SUN

SAT 12/3, 12/10, 12/17
9AM TO 8PM

  STORE CLOSED 12/25
   



 

 

ABOUT US

Barrington Books, voted BEST INDEPENDENT BOOKSTORE by Rhode Island Monthly, is known far and wide for its knowledgeable book-loving staff, vast selection of high-quality books, toys and gifts, as well as its vibrant community events. 

Policies

 

 

 

 

Connect

Have a question? Info@barringtonbooks.com

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.