Can't find what you're looking for? Visit us in person to see everything we have in stock!

Rick Riordan Presents: Race to the Sun (Paperback)

Rick Riordan Presents: Race to the Sun By Rebecca Roanhorse Cover Image
$8.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Winter 2019 Kids Indie Next List


“Nizhoni Begay is a heroine you won’t soon forget! Roanhorse delves into Native American mythology with glee as Nizhoni learns about her heritage and what it takes to become a hero. With a colorful cast of characters—Mr. Yazzie the horned toad being a personal favorite—it’s a race to the sun god for mythical weapons so Nizhoni and company can free her father from a tyrannical monster (who also happens to be an oil baron).”
— Sami Thomason, Square Books, Oxford, MS

About the Author


Rebecca Roanhorse (www.RebeccaRoanhorse.com) is a Black/Indigenous (Ohkay Owingeh) writer of speculative fiction, including the New York Times best-selling Resistance Reborn, two adult books in the Sixth World series, Trail of Lightning and Storm of Locusts, and a Nebula and Hugo-winning short story, "Welcome to Your Authentic Indian Experience." Race to the Sun is her middle grade debut. Before she became a full-time writer, Rebecca was a lawyer who worked behalf of Native Americans. She lives in Northern New Mexico with her Navajo husband and their daughter. Follow her on Twitter @RoanhorseBex.

Praise For…


Fans of Hugo and Nebula winner Roanhorse (Ohkay Owingeh) will appreciate her fast-paced prose, page-turning chapter endings, and most of all, strong female protagonist. By reimagining a traditional story in a contemporary context, populating it with faceted Native characters, and centering it on and around the Navajo Nation, Roanhorse shows that Native stories are active and alive.Native readers will see themselves as necessary heroes while readers of all walks will want to be their accomplices.—Kirkus

Roanhorse (the Sixth World series for adults), who is Ohkay Owingeh and African-American, draws on her husband’s heritage to reimagine Navajo stories and characters, delivering a fast-paced, exciting adventure. While the antagonists could stand further development, Nizhoni’s blend of snark, confidence, and humor proves as multifaceted as the satisfying tale’s focus on friendship, family, and cultural legacy.—Publishers Weekly
Product Details
ISBN: 9781368024822
ISBN-10: 1368024823
Publisher: Rick Riordan Presents
Publication Date: January 5th, 2021
Pages: 320
Language: English
 

CONTACT US

BARRINGTON BOOKS
184 County Road | Barrington, RI 02806
401 245 7925

HOURS

9AM-9PM       M-F
9AM-7PM       SAT
10AM-6PM     SUN

We will be closed Easter Sunday - March 31, 2024

 

ABOUT US

Barrington Books, voted BEST INDEPENDENT BOOKSTORE by Rhode Island Monthly, is known far and wide for its knowledgeable book-loving staff, vast selection of high-quality books, toys and gifts, as well as its vibrant community events. 

Policies

 

 

 

 

Connect

Have a question? Info@barringtonbooks.com

Need to Log Out? Click here

 

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.