Can't find what you're looking for? Visit us in person to see everything we have in stock!

The Heart of the Deal: A Novel (Paperback)

The Heart of the Deal: A Novel By Lindsay MacMillan Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jojo Moyes, Lindsay MacMillan’s debut novel deftly captures the feeling of being adrift in your late twenties, with poignant commentary on female friendships, mental health, and what happiness really looks like.

Rae is in a romantic recession.
 
The Wall Street banker is single in New York City and overwhelmed by the pressure to scramble up the corporate and romantic ladders. Feeling her biological clock ticking, she analyzes her love life like a business deal and vows to lock in a husband before her 30th birthday. 
 
The Manhattan dating app scene has as many ups and downs as the stock market, and outsourcing dates to an algorithm isn’t exactly Rae’s idea of romance. She considers cutting her losses, but her friends help her stay invested, boosting her spirits with ice cream and cheap wine that they share in their sixth-floor walk-up while recapping cringe-worthy dates.
 
And then Rae meets Dustin, a poetic soul trapped in a business suit, just like her. She starts to hear wedding bells, but Dustin’s struggles with depression will test their relationship, and no amount of financial modeling can project what their future will look like.
 
Can Rae free herself from the idea she had of what thirty was supposed to look like and let love breathe on its own timeline? Or is she too conditioned to stay on the “right track” to follow her unpaved intuition?
 
Moving and timely, The Heart of the Deal is the story of one woman’s reckoning with what success really is in a city, an industry, and a relationship whose low lows continually challenge the enchantment of the high highs.

About the Author


Lindsay MacMillan is a writer, businesswoman, and hopelessly hopeful romantic. After growing up in Michigan in the land of cows, cornfields, and kindness, she graduated magna cum laude from Dartmouth College. She was formerly a vice president at Goldman Sachs and has worked in both New York City and London. The Heart of the Deal is her first published novel, and she shares unfiltered poetry and prose on Instagram (@lindsaymacwriting).

Praise For…


Praise for The Heart of the Deal:
“An analytic and emotional exploration of love, mental health issues, and what it means to give someone your heart.”
Kirkus

“Readers will relate [to the main character] or strongly disagree with her, a mark of Macmillan's good writing . . . [it] will inspire lively book discussions.”
Booklist

“A deftly crafted contemporary romance.”
Midwest Book Review

“Thoughtful and emotional. The Heart of the Deal lays bare the difficulties of balancing friendships, career goals, and romantic relationships while traveling the road to true happiness. It pulled at every single one of my heartstrings.”
—Farrah Rochon, USA Today bestselling author of The Dating Playbook
Product Details
ISBN: 9781639100101
ISBN-10: 1639100105
Publisher: Alcove Press
Publication Date: June 7th, 2022
Pages: 352
Language: English
 

CONTACT US

BARRINGTON BOOKS
184 County Road | Barrington, RI 02806
401 245 7925

HOURS
9AM-9PM       M-F
9AM-7PM       SAT
10AM-6PM     SUN

 

ABOUT US

Barrington Books, voted BEST INDEPENDENT BOOKSTORE by Rhode Island Monthly, is known far and wide for its knowledgeable book-loving staff, vast selection of high-quality books, toys and gifts, as well as its vibrant community events. 

Policies

 

 

 

 

Connect

Have a question? Info@barringtonbooks.com

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.