Joanne Leedom-Ackerman Reading and Signing

Please join us as we welcome Joanne Leedom-Ackerman for a reading and signing of her book, The Far Side of the Desert.  

 

About the Book:

A terrorist attack—a kidnapping—the ultimate vacation gone wrong

Sisters Samantha and Monte Waters are vacationing together in Santiago de Compostela, Spain, enjoying a festival and planning to meet with their brother, Cal—but the idyllic plans are short-lived. When terrorists’ attacks rock the city around them, Monte, a U.S. foreign service officer, and Samantha, an international television correspondent, are separated, and one of them is whisked away in the frenzy.

The family mobilizes, using all their contacts to try to find their missing sister, but to no avail. She has vanished. As time presses on, the outlook darkens. Can she be found, or is she a lost cause? And, even if she returns, will the damage to her and those around her be irreparable?

Moving from Spain to Washington to Morocco to Gibraltar to the Sahara Desert, The Far Side of the Desert is a family drama and political thriller that explores links of terrorism, crime, and financial manipulation, revealing the grace that ultimately foils destruction.

Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Daniel Silva

 

About the Author:

Joanne Leedom-Ackerman is a novelist, short story writer, and journalist whose works of fiction include Burning Distance, The Dark Path to the River, and No Marble Angels. Her recent nonfiction book, PEN Journeys: Memoir of Literature on the Line, drew inspiration from her job as a vice president of the worldwide writers and human rights organization PEN International. She is also on the boards of the American Writers Museum, the International Center for Journalists, Words Without Borders, and Refugees International. She is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations and the Texas Institute of Letters. The Far Side of the Desert is her latest novel.

When: 

Thursday, April 4, 2024 - 7:00pm

Where: 

In Store, 184 County Rd, Barrington, RI 02806
 

CONTACT US

BARRINGTON BOOKS
184 County Road | Barrington, RI 02806
401 245 7925

HOURS

9AM-9PM       M-F
9AM-7PM       SAT
10AM-6PM     SUN

We will be closed Easter Sunday - March 31, 2024

 

ABOUT US

Barrington Books, voted BEST INDEPENDENT BOOKSTORE by Rhode Island Monthly, is known far and wide for its knowledgeable book-loving staff, vast selection of high-quality books, toys and gifts, as well as its vibrant community events. 

Policies

 

 

 

 

Connect

Have a question? Info@barringtonbooks.com

Need to Log Out? Click here

 

Zircon - This is a contributing Drupal Theme
Design by WeebPal.